MaltaToday

Front page.
NEWS | Wednesday, 22 October 2008

Broadcasting Authority CEO to step down

The long-standing chief executive of the Broadcasting Authority, Kevin Aquilina, has decided to step down and join the University of Malta’s faculty of law.
A lawyer by profession, Aquilina spent 10 years at the helm of the BA, but still lectured in public law at the university, as well contributing important papers on the development of freedom of information in Malta.
Aquilina said he would be staying on at the BA for the next two months, the Constitutionally appointed watchdog for all radio and television broadcasts in Malta.
“I have always had an interest in academia and I still gave my contribution as a lecturer,” Aquilina said.
Asked about having any regrets over the last 10 years, he said his job had not been “too much of a headache”.
He also said there had been many developments in terms of regulation at the BA.
Asked about the state of television in Malta, and whether he felt the standards had improved, Aquilina said he had seen things change dramatically.
“I think progress was made in a variety of programmes. There are certainly more high-level offerings today, and in general I feel TV has improved. I think there is a good product,” Aquilina said.
He also brushed off the suggestion that working in an institution whose board are appointed by both political parties is problematic: “That’s a political decision… my role here to is to administer and implement.”
In his youth, Aquilina was involved with Moviment 83, a radical left-wing organisation which published the pamphlet, Analizi.
He obtained his lawyer’s warrant in 1989, subsequently obtaining a Master’s degree in international maritime law, and a doctorate from the London School of Economics in 1997. He also possesses degrees in religious and patristic studies, and a Master’s degree in diplomatic studies.

Any comments?